Jean-ious

Not since those two-tone black-and-white jeans of the 1990s has building a denim wardrobe been as much fun as it is right now. The last two pairs I bought were cream with a hint of palest apricot, and olive corduroy with a paint-splattered print. I’ve recently brought out of storage both a cropped skinny capri and a dark blue wide-leg style, and have been eye-balling J Brand’s red pair for what feels like months.

Because I’m also a faithful wearer of basic black and blue skinnies, I’ve found that the easiest way to pull off what I like to think of as “novelty” jeans is by wearing them with their opposite – that is, easy, classic pieces or, in the case of the wide-leg pair, a really fitted top half such as a silk shirt, a la Tom Ford’s 1990s Gucci. Here are three of my new favourites, plus how I’m wearing them. 

TR Ensemble by Therese Rawsthorne cream jeans, Helmut Lang blazer, Sportsgirl leopard-print blouse, Bally pumps, Scanlan & Theodore belt.

Etoile by Isabel Marant printed corduroy jeans, Hussein Chalayan cowl-neck jumper, Prada pumps.

Habitual wide-leg jeans, Zara blouse, Bally heels, Marni clutch.

Don’t forget it’s Jeans for Genes day in Australia, an incredibly worthwhile cause that supports research into genetic diseases and congenital abnormalities. Please visit the website to find out how you can donate.

And tell me: how are you wearing your jeans today?

Your comments make my day - please share!