How I wore it: shorts to the office

Having returned to full-time freelancing a couple of months ago (after a year as acting beauty editor on Women’s Health), I’ve been loving the lack of a set routine. Variety is one of my favourite parts of life as a freelancer – the fact that I could be styling a fashion shoot one day, attending a beauty launch or interviewing a skincare scientist for my new gig as beauty director on Myer’s Emporium magazine the next.

This week has been short on events and long on deadlines (six so far!), plus some running around planning two upcoming photo shoots. Fun, but not exactly worthy of busting out the dresses and heels.

These tailored Alphaville shorts I wore yesterday were professional enough to visit a fashion showroom and pop into the office, while the flats meant I could do it all on foot (my favourite way to travel). Speaking of the shoes (by Costume National), they’re not quite the smoking slipper I posted about yesterday but are more of a ballet-smoking hybrid. I’ve had them for years but it took the  slipper trend for me to pull them out of my wardrobe and wear them again.

And as for the creepy skeletal-hand tank? No, it’s not a Halloween leftover but is also an ancient Zimmermann number that just felt right again. Sometimes, refusing to part with treasured wardrobe items can have an upside! The bangles are by Burberry (studded) and Chloe (teal).

Your comments make my day - please share!