Look chic, don’t break the bank

I first “met” Kerrie Hess when she illustrated a feature I wrote for Emporium magazine called “Who Do Women Really Dress For?” I say “met” in inverted commas because, as is the way so much these days, I was working in Sydney and she was based in Melbourne at the time. She’s since transplanted to Paris with her French husband and young son, and has just written and illustrated a beautiful new book called Shoestring Chic: 101 ways to live the fashionably luxe life for less.

Charmingly presented and full of chic advice, I read the entire thing in one sitting, noting that I was wearing at least four of Kerrie’s suggestions that very day (these included No. 28: Flat Out – ballet flats are eternally chic, mine were from Country Road; No 25: The Scarf Effect – my jumbo pink tie-dyed scarf was from Lux & Trip; and both No 6: In The Trenches and No. 36: Do The Diffusion – two ideas neatly ticked off by my Stella McCartney for Target trench coat).

As well as being impressed by Kerrie’s dollar-saving ideas, I am in awe of her talent. If I could choose any skill to add to my very small repertoire, the ability to draw would top my list. So I was thrilled when Kerrie agreed to answer a few of my questions about how she got where she is today. Click through to read her answers and see more of her wonderful illustrations, and head here to purchase a copy of Kerrie’s book (which could easily qualify as shoestring-chic idea number 102). Then tell me: what’s your favourite idea for looking chic on a budget? 

You have such a distinctive illustration style; can you briefly outline how it has developed?
Thank you! I studied graphic design many moons ago at Griffith University in Queensland. From there I packed up and moved to London and ended up working for The Independent newspaper on their weekend magazines as a designer. While there I happened to start illustrating some regular columns for the magazine and eventually realised this was something that I wanted to pursue full-time. That was 11 years ago now!

Your client list is diverse; what have been some of your favourite projects to work on?
Some of my best clients have been Vogue, Net-A-Porter, and Christian Louboutin. Three particularly memorable jobs were illustrating for the release of the CHANEL Barbie; windows for Neiman Marcus department store in the US, and Vogue’s Fashion Night Out in Sydney. I also recently illustrated a range of posters for the shoe department in Myer, which I am dying to see when I can get back to Australia next.

But perhaps my favourite job this year was for a smaller boutique client called L’Avion. As a vintage scarf collector, it was such a thrill to illustrate a range of six silk scarves for this new and wonderful brand. Jo Scahill (ex-Saba and Arcadia Group in the UK) who created the brand has put so much attention to detail into the quality of the scarves. And I felt like I had a lot of creative license for this lovely job, which is fairly rare as an illustrator.

What prompted you to write Shoestring Chic?
I have always loved style books, but often felt that some of the advice has been more for those on an endless budget. I’ve also always believed that money doesn’t buy style, so I set out to write and illustrate a title that I hoped to be beautiful as well as practical. The book isn’t just about fashion and beauty, it’s also about discovering moments of luxury through small experiences either at home, or on travels. I also hoped to learn a thing or two myself from some of the wonderful designers that kindly contributed to the book, such as Collette Dinnigan, Lulu Guinness, Sass & Bide and Kelly Wearstler.

What’s your personal tip for looking chic?
Right now it’s a tailored blazer. You can throw one over the top of a T-shirt and jeans, a knit, or even a maxi dress. In Paris almost everyone is wearing blazers! That includes men and children too. There is even a store near my apartment that sells linen suits for toddlers, which is of course madness… I am not quite trusting my two-year-old son in a white linen suit just yet!

What have you most recently splurged on?
My last very recent, credit-card-still-burning splurge was on a black leather Oroton bag which I bought online! (Which is of course completely insane when you live in a shopping Mecca like Paris.) On that note, even though shopping is wonderful in France, I already miss some of my favourite Australian brands like Oroton for accessories and Sambag for ballet flats. And even Witchery, Country Road and Bonds for basics.

How has living in Paris shaped your idea of chic?
I think I may be dressing more conservatively with colour since arriving! I have always worn a lot of black, but also colour when living in Melbourne. When I wear brights here, I feel like a walking neon light, amid so much black and navy!

Can you share any tips for having a successful freelance career as an illustrator?
• Be prepared to work very hard; even if you can do it in your pajamas.
• Tap into your inner non-creative side too, and be organised with accounts or you will never get paid!
• Get to know other illustrators, or simply others in your area that also freelance. Meet up with them for coffee every now and then, to create your own version of office banter.
• Contact Illustrators Australia. They can give some great advice about the industry.

Over to you: in the comments section below, share your ideas for looking chic without breaking the bank.

4 thoughts on “Look chic, don’t break the bank

Your comments make my day - please share!